Resurrecting the Past

How to Come Fully Into The Present by Understanding Your Past Work

Online November 7, 14, and 21 and December 5, 12, and 19

Limited to 12 students! See Your Old Work in New Ways. What are the old stories we tell ourselves that help or hinder us from moving forward in our work? How can we come fully into the present by understanding your past work? How would you do this work now? What is the significance of evaluating where you’ve been? Will it help us see where we’re going? We will be working with our previously shot materials to see patterns, see what projects may be laying dormant, or how to introduce old materials into new work. 

Requirements: Participants need to have access to their older work, the ability to email photos to the course coordinator (Beth), and the time to dig into their work. Assignments will be given each class, and particiants will need to send work to Beth before class for inclusion in our PowerPoint.  

Cost: $1,322 (40% discount available to alumni from workshops occurring in March 2020 or later)
Location: online from 5pm-7pm EST, 4pm-6pm CST, 3pm-5pm MST, 2pm-4pm PST

 

What Happens in Class

  • Each session is 2 hours long
  • Hour 1 will be a lecture from Laurie Klein or a guest lecturer with expertise pertinent to the topic. Guest speakers will discuss:
    • Patterns and symbols recurring in our images and lives
    • Picking up the pieces: how visualizing our journey assists in assessing older work
    • Tools such as meditation and mental balancing
    • How our journey helps us create new work from the ashes of the old
    • How long-term projects impact our worlds
    • There will be options for using alternative techniques like collaging, double exposures, hand coloring, etc.
    • We’ll also talk about tools for evaluating work, reframing or viewing old work to inspire new work, and melding work together. We’ll examine phases of our work and think about reshooting or continuing to shoot ongoing long-term projects.
  • Hour 2 will focus on critiquing student images
 

Bookings

Bookings are closed for this event.